Sexy, Chocolate, Chocolate Pumpkin Seed Cookies

Easy recipe with photos for Chocolate Pumpkin Seed Cookies

Recently, I came across a blog called I Want My Sexy Back. It is actually a nutrition and physical fitness blog, but its author is a pretty smart cookie. He or she knows the one word that will attract the greatest readership. After six months of tracking my posts’ readership, I can say the second most powerful word is chocolate.

I want my sexy back as much as the next person, but this still remains a cooking blog and I have to call a spade a spade, though I will admit I have considered changing the blog title to Chocolate in Mexico. Instead, I have a recipe for very chocolate-y pumpkin seed cookies, cookies that feature two ingredients from the New World. I hope a few of the extra readers this recipe title attracts actually make them. And the extra chocolate and pumpkins seeds just might put a gleam in the eye when you share them with your sweetie.

Chocolate Pumpkin Seed Cookies                 makes 13 large cookies

  • 6 tablespoons (3 oz./85 grams) butter, cool room temperature
  • 1/4 cup  (2 oz./56 grams) white or light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg, cool room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/4 cups (5 oz./150 grams) sifted whole wheat flour (save the bran for muffins)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • optional 1/2 teaspoon chile powder
  • 2 discs Ibarra chocolate (6 oz./170 grams) bittersweet chocolate, chopped*
  • 1/2 cup (2.3 oz./65 grams) pumpkin seeds, plus extra seeds for decorating cookies
  1. Read recipe through completely. Butter or spray a cookie sheet. Pre-heat oven to 375 deg. F. (190 C.).
  2. Cream butter with an electric mixer, about 1 minute.
  3. Add sugar and beat for a few minutes on medium speed until fluffy.
  4. Add egg and vanilla. Beat until well mixed.
  5. Sift dry ingredients together and add to butter mixture in two parts, mixing just until all flour is incorporated.
  6. Stir in chopped chocolate and pumpkin seeds.
  7. Spoon dough onto a cookie sheet using a #30 (2 tablespoons/30 ml.) ice cream scoop, spacing 2″apart. Press 3-4 pumpkin seeds on the surface of each cookie.
  8. Bake for 12-15 minutes, depending on whether you like soft or crisp cookies.
  9. Cool on the cookie sheet for 2 minutes to firm up. Transfer to a cake rack and cool completely. Store in an airtight container.

Sexy, Chocolate, Chocolate Pumpkin Seed Cookies

Notes:

*Ibarra chocolate is lower in fat than most chocolates, so is harder to chop. To make this easier, soften the discs for 10 seconds in a micro-wave oven. Be careful not to melt the chocolate.

After years of bringing back Belgian bittersweet chocolate to my home in Mexico, I have found that Ibarra chocolate, the Mexican chocolate used for making hot chocolate drinks, is a very good substitute. If you have a good supply of Belgian chocolate, these cookies will be just as good, but I can say that Ibarra chocolate makes an excellent cookie. And Chocolate Mousse. And Kahlua Truffles. And Brownies. And even Hot Chocolate.

“Sifted whole wheat flour” means that you sift the flour first, then measure it.

Searching out organic ingredients is worth the extra effort and expense for both flavor and health. These cookies are made with organic cane sugar from Costco, organic butter brought to me from Trader Joe’s in Portland by my dear friend Dawn, and organic eggs, bought from our friends Coca and Capi, who have free-range chickens on their ranch in Jalisco. I look forward to the day when I can buy organic whole wheat flour in Puerto Vallarta.

Protected by Copyscape Duplicate Content Check


Share

5 thoughts on “Sexy, Chocolate, Chocolate Pumpkin Seed Cookies

  1. Yep, I got some also, and was searching for the recipe. Found it!! Now I need to find that chocolate! It is amazing. Interesting texture in these cookies and the wrapping was so darn cute! Very clever.

  2. Linda

    Your DH brought us some of these and they were fabulous, surprisingly light and airy
    with great ingredients. J and I are down to the last two. Muchas gracias.

  3. Oh my … I do love cookies and all the ingredients in these ones. They look really yummy so I’ll be having the baker in our home (my husband) try out your recipe. Thanks for sharing it with us. :)

    1. Hi timethief,

      How fortunate you are to have a baking husband. Tell him these cookies are great stored in the freezer, if you like ice-cold cookies like we do. And thank you for all the great WordPress info you share with us.

Leave a Reply

