Mango cobbler in Mexico

Mango season will come to an end any day now in our part of Mexico. When that happens, it will be a readjustment of reality for me. It is so easy to get used to having fresh, sweet mangoes whenever I want, everyday. Well, before the harvest ends, here is a very easy mango cobbler to make. Once you have sliced mangoes ready, the few ingredients for the cobbler batter are mixed up in minutes. Into the oven. Out of the oven. And on a dish in front of you, topped with a cool scoop of yogurt, maybe homemade yogurt. Its smooth and tart coolness contrasts nicely with the warm sweetness of mango cobbler.

Like many of my baking recipes, this one is made with whole wheat flour, a minimum of sugar, and organic ingredients when available. I used Tommy Atkins mangoes.

Mango Cobbler

  • 3 ripe mangoes, sliced
  • 4 tablespoons (2 oz./56 grams) organic butter
  • 1 cup (4 oz./115 gram)  whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup ( 1.8 oz./50 grams) organic sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom, optional
  • 1 cup (8 0z./240 ml.) milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons sliced almonds plus 1 tablespoon organic sugar

Read recipe through completely. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F. (180 C.) Prepare and measure/weigh all ingredients.

Melt butter in a 9″x 9″ (about 22 cm. square) baking pan. Swirl to coat sides of pan with melted butter. Arrange half of mango slices in bottom of pan.

In a bowl, mix flour, sugar, salt, cardamom and baking powder briefly with a fork. Add milk, and stir just until dry ingredients are incorporated.

Spoon batter over mango slices. Arrange remaining slices on batter. Sprinkle with sliced almonds and 1 tablespoon of sugar.

Bake for 45-50 minutes, or until cake tests dry with a toothpick and is light brown. Dust with confectioners sugar and serve warm with plain yogurt.

Note:

This cobbler is extra fruity, because there are two layers of fruit, rather than the one layer found in most cobbler recipes.  Extra fruit means extra fructose, resulting in a cobbler still very sweet, even with a minimum of sugar in the recipe.

Share

Protected by Copyscape Duplicate Content Check

19 thoughts on “Mango cobbler in Mexico

  1. hello all –

    i am in mexico…

    please do tell me where i can get greek yogart from in mexico.
    i can not find any anywhere.

    this is the little i do know –

    Mexico

    Strained yoghurt is called jocoque in Mexico. It was popularised by local producers of Lebanese origin and is widely popular in the country. The name jocoque is Nahuatl, and is also used for an indigenous cultured milk product similar to labneh.

    1. Greek yogurt is not common in Mexico. I don’t know where you are, but you can probably find it in large cities, like Mexico D.F., or Guadalajara, at delis or gourmet shops. If you are in the state of Jalisco, the town of Mascota is known for their jocoque. You might get something close to Greek yogurt by straining regular yogurt through a fine, cotton towel or cheesecloth. Good luck!

  2. Pingback: Coconut Mango Tres Leches Cake « Cooking in Mexico

  3. Delicious! I don’t have mango here, I will try with peaches. So you’ll try my peaches dessert with mango and I will try your mango dessert with peaches. Isn’t it nice???

  4. Beautiful. I’m right there with you on loving mangoes. It is the BEST thing about being in Mexico. The photo of the end result is gorgeous. Thanks for creating and sharing a simply wonderful dessert. Re: yogurt. My friend Roberta uses the plain Greek yogurt and stirs in a little honey. I’ve tried that on a mix of peach, mango, papaya, banana, and blueberry and it is a heavenly dessert with few calories. We can get all this in Mexico except the blueberries! Keep ’em coming.

      1. Vicki in GA

        Have I got a deal for you!
        I’ll send you blueberries and you can send me mango. Don’t ya wish we could do that? I do.

        Blueberries are abundant this year in the mountains. $10 a gallon picked or U-pick for $5 a gallon. This summer, north Georgia mountains has had lots of sunny hot days, just enough rain, so the berry crops are beautiful. Last year, no blueberry crops because of too much rain.

        BTW, I could taste and smell the cobbler! Oh my goodness.

  5. Cranefixer

    Hmm
    I would have thought mangoes would almost be to sweet hmm
    Thanks for pointing them out would not have thought of it !!!
    Ok I gotta try this when I get back
    I really like the Almond idea
    Never tried spelt but I love organic oats on the top of my crisps etc mmmmm
    I will make this in the BBQ in Cast Iron frying pan my fav crisp making device :)
    CAST IRON RULES

  6. Since it is difficult to get a good peach here in the States (except for a few weeks when the Colorado western slope peaches are on), I’ve gone to mangos almost exclusively for my yellow cobblers and crisps. This looks like a super yummy and quick recipe that I will try with spelt flour. I think we can still get mangos at a reasonable price – will check on my weekly shopping trip Friday. Lately I’ve been doing the fruit intensive crisp version which is basically a thick layer of fruit with tapioca and sugar topped with a crumble of butter, dark sugar and pecans. Fall is in the air here, so a cobbler, with its more cake-like consistency sounds perfect. Thanks for never failing to make my mouth water and for all the time you put into your wonderful blog.

    1. Mangoes are such a good substitute for peaches (and vice versa, if you can get good peaches, not mealy, dry ones). This same recipe would make a good cobbler with spelt — good idea. I can’t get spelt here in Mexico to try this version, but I hope you let me know how it turns out. And thank you for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

