Sunday Market in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle


A new Sunday Market has come to La Cruz, full of organic veggies, hand-crafted jewelry, clothing and paintings, and lots of wonderful baked breads and pastries. Organized by a group of local residents calling themselves Cooperativa Huanacaxtle, this market has the great feel of farmers markets many of us grew accustomed to north of the border, while still retaining a connection to tianguis, the Mexican street markets.

Pictures speak louder than words, so take a virtual walk with me through last Sunday’s market. Be sure to check out the organic squash blossoms, arugula, radishes, baby squash, cilantro and much more from San Jose. Beautifully fresh at reasonable prices, what more could we ask for.

If you haven’t yet had breakfast, are you in for a treat. Whole wheat breads, quiches, pies, cookies — home made or made by a local bakery, they, too shout freshness. Christian of Vera Bakery in Bucerias offers mouthwatering focaccia and Argentine cookies, alfojores, filled with dulce de leche and rolled in organic coconut, sold by his market neighbor Kathleen (ahem, yours truly). Grace specializes in American baked goods, including fruit pies, buttermilk doughnuts and cupcakes. Her son helps her sales just by sitting there and looking so cute.

Organic Super Foods from Puerto Vallarta has homemade organic peanut butter. I bought some, along with their flaxseed tostadas, and it was hard not to eat the whole tub of peanut butter with a spoon. Archie’s Wok was represented by a big selection of salsas, with chips for sampling each one.

There was also fresh cheese, a product no longer seen in U.S. farmer’s markets, with the concern over raw milk. (I have been eating locally purchased fresh cheeses for years, and can only say the panelas and queso frescos are wonderful and cause me no problems.) Doña Guera also has yard eggs, something not seen too often here, a surprise given the numbers of hens and noisy roosters that roam the streets our town, crowing their presence day and night.

Obviously, I focused on the food and not the hand-crafts, but they are worth checking out, also. I’m just too food-oriented for my own good, but I’ll try to make up for it with another market report in the future.

La Cruz Sunday Market is 10 a.m. until 2 p.m. on the plaza. You might want to bring a shopping bag and a bottle of water. There is a children’s program to entertain the youngsters while their parents shop.

NOTE: The Sunday Market in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle has begun a new season, and has a new location. You can find it next the the Fish Market at the La Cruz Marina. It is bigger than ever and may be Banderas Bay’s premiere farmers’ Market.

More Reading:

Farmers Market May Be Finding Their Niche in Mexico (Banderas News)

Protected by Copyscape Duplicate Content Check


Share

33 thoughts on “Sunday Market in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle

  1. Linda

    Your pictures and website are beautiful. I am curious though. You make it sound like someone wanted to control the original market and made your market people move. My understanding was that the cooperative wanted to move and the “resellers” were not allowed to come with you, thereby creating two markets. Could you please clarify this for me? Thanks so much.

    1. We are saying the same thing I think: the cooperativa moved to maintain control over the products sold. The re-sellers don’t sell products they make themselves, do they couldn’t move, even if they wanted to, but I don’t know if they wanted to go to the marina or stay on the plaza.

  2. neil

    Hi Kathleen
    We went to the market last Sunday, and it was completely different than in December! No fresh vegetables, no organic coconut, etc and most of the vendors were the flea market variety. What happened?

    1. Neil,
      Our market was moved to the La Cruz Marina’s fish market at the far south end of town. What you saw on the plaza were all the re-sellers. Our market’s organizers stipulate that we sell products we make ourselves. The re-sellers don’t fall into that category. To maintain control of the original market, we were moved to the fish market (actually, an area just south of the fish market building). Look for us this coming Sunday. We are all there.

    1. There are markets in Sayulita (I don’t know what day) and Las Penitas (Thursday), but they are regular “tinanguis”, with everything for sale, including vegetables. It is possible you could sell there also, but I do not know who you would contact. Good luck.

  3. jenn

    Good afternoon! Everything looks wonderful, I was wondering if you know how I can go about bringing things down to the market and participating. We have a restaurant not far from La Cruz and would love to bring samples down.

    Any information would be great,

    Take Care!!

    1. Jenn,
      You first need to contact the market organizers for approval. They communicate through their Face Book page. If you are already on Face Book, type in Cooperativa Huanacaxtle in the search bar, then send them a message telling them what you wish to bring.

  4. Pingback: Vera Bakery in Bucerias for your sweet tooth « Cooking in Mexico

  5. Pingback: Carnes del Mundo in Bucerias — A Meat Eater’s Haven « Cooking in Mexico

  6. Pingback: Shopping at the Sunday market in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, again « Cooking in Mexico

  7. Thanks for the great blog, it’s really beautiful and I will definately be going to the farmers market tomorrow.

    Now I’m going to look at your recipes, and see what I should shop for, very inspiring!

  8. Lorin Johnson

    Everything looks beautiful, but those squash blossoms caught my eye and imagination. I can think of many wonderful ways to cook them.

  9. Pingback: La Cruz market « pvshop

  10. It makes me so happy when I hear about a “new organic” market. It’s great for the people growing the food, great for the planet and great for the people buying and eating the food.

  11. Pingback: Tweets that mention Sunday Market in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle « Cooking in Mexico -- Topsy.com

  12. Rosie

    this is my hometown where my grandparents live. i see these pictures and brings back memories to me .thank you for taking your time to help me re-live my childhood. :)

  13. What a great post and pictures.! It makes me nostalgic for a Mexican market.
    All the food is mouthwatering. That foccacia looks so yummyAnd you shouldn’t’ had mentioned, los alfajores de coco, because, now I am craving one, and might have to go tomorrow to the Latin American store to see if they have some. Those “rábanos” are huge!
    All the best!

  14. Alice

    Wow, I just joined this blog and am I glad I did…cannot wait to try this choco flan..and believe me I will try to cook something from every edition.
    So excited.
    Do you know the recipe for the seafood cocktail sold on the beaches –wonderfully spicy in a big glass goblet with all kinds of bits of seafood in it.. Cold and delicious…..???

    1. Hi Alice,
      Thank you so much for subscribing. I’m glad to hear that you like Cooking in Mexico. The choco flan is a wonderful cake — I should bake it again.
      I have not made the cocktail sold on the beaches. I really like the seafood cocktails served at Ocho Tostadas in Puerto Vallarta. I’ll put this recipe on my “to do” list and get one out for you soon.

  15. Darlene

    Kathleen, you are the luckiest lady. Thoses squash blossems are spectacular!
    Everything looks so inviting. So fresh and plentiful.
    Darlene

Leave a Reply

