Shopping at the Sunday market in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, again

I hope I’m not boring my north of the border readers by sharing photos of the La Cruz Sunday Market for the second time in as many weeks. It is just such a great event for our little town, with such nice items for sale. The market provides an outlet for the many creative vendors, and it gives the townfolk a chance to socialize and check out the wares together. I never imagined such a market ever happening in our pueblita when we moved here thirteen years ago.

Last week, I had no photos of the craftspeople and their wares — I wear blinders if there is food around — so here are some scenes from this morning, starting out with the many handmade items. I wish you could have been there.

I don’t know everyone’s names or where they are from, but they offer quite a variety of quality handmade goods at reasonable prices. I know where I’m doing my Christmas shopping.

Our plaza was spiffed up last year when El Presidente, Felipe Calderón, visited the international boat show at the new marina in March. The plaza’s gazebo is a perfect place for bands, and Tatawari, a local banda of talented, young musicians, kept our feet tapping with their spirited jazz and flamenco.

The moment of truth. Despite my best intentions, this was the sum total of my craft photos, and the rest are all of food! What can I say? Once a foodie, always a foodie. Enjoy.

This is the time of year when the climate could not be any better. An umbrella, un parasol, is used for sun, not rain, in the winter. Alfajores, fabulous cajeta-filled cookies, are made by Argentine born Christian of Vera Bakery in Bucerias. Thanks, Christian, for the alfajor you gave me. Did I ever luck out by having you as my market neighbor. Now if I can just keep my hands off your table of delectable goodies. Talk about temptation staring me in the face for four hours!

And I will close with my favorite of them all, the organic squash blossom flowers that are so beautiful, I take them home to enjoy in a vase, instead of turning them into quesadilla filling.

The La Cruz Sunday market is 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Look for me next Sunday. I’ll be selling organic coconut products under the ficus trees next to Christian. To my faithful readers, don’t give up on me. I’ll be back with more recipes this week.

NOTE: The Sunday Market in La Cruz has begun a new season, and is now located next to the Fish Market at the La Cruz Marina. 

Protected by Copyscape Duplicate Content Check

Share

13 thoughts on “Shopping at the Sunday market in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, again

  1. Pingback: JANUARY ORGANIC STRETCHINGSM WEEKEND WORKSHOPS CONTINUE | Organic Stretching

  2. Pingback: Vera Bakery in Bucerias satisfies the sweet tooth « Cooking in Mexico

  3. Pingback: Vera Bakery in Bucerias for your sweet tooth « Cooking in Mexico

  4. Vicki in GA

    I’m impressed with the beautiful veggies and choices at the mercado.
    Do I see my favorite cookies?

    Fried squash blossoms – yummm. Do you make them?

    1. If your favorite cookies are alfjores, then yes, you do. Christian said he would give me the recipe. I’ll have to make them for a future write-up.
      I use squash blossoms as a filling for quesadillas. I can’t believe I haven’t cooked/written this recipe for the blog. Another future write-up.

  5. Lorin Johnson

    Kathleen, This looks fantastic! I am salivating for Mexico. La Cruz has sure come a long way. We’ll plan to see it in the 19th.

  6. Darlene

    Wow, now that is shopping temptation! I purchased a pair of Mexican green Jade earrings with my first paycheck out of High School and they are still my favorites!
    Your Sunday Market would be a very expensive venture for me, and not just with the jewelry.
    I love your take on this.

  7. Neil

    Thanks for giving us the heads up on the market!!! We were able to go today and loved it. I did not realize you were the coconut products! We will stop and say hello next week. Your neighbor Christian makes a fabulous Argentine meat empanada too…lots of temptations.

  8. Cindy Bouchard

    So it’s YOU who took all the blossoms… I must beat you to it next week! This was the 2nd week in a row I missed them!

Leave a Reply

