Salad of grilled nopal with carrot, jícama and beet wins recipe contest

I entered a recipe contest hosted by Muy Bueno Cookbook, and I won! The winning recipe is for Salad of Grilled Nopal with Carrot, Jícama and Beet which was featured on Cooking in Mexico last month. Check out their site — they did a much better job with the photography than I did when I first wrote up this recipe.

I never win anything, so this is a big deal for me. The prize is a beautiful Muy Bueno 2011 calendar, with each month featuring one of their Latino inspired recipes and a gorgeous photo.

Muy Bueno Cookbook is selling these calendars, with part of the proceeds benefiting the Denver Foundation, a non-profit group that will use the funds for neighborhood improvements. The photo below shows this calendar; click it to order your own. And make this salad! It’s so colorful and so good for you.

39 thoughts on “Salad of grilled nopal with carrot, jícama and beet wins recipe contest

  1. Pingback: Nopal licuado — cactus in a glass « Cooking in Mexico

  2. That looks exquisite! I’d almost hate to eat it, it looks so pretty…but I am sure it’s just as delicious as it is beautiful. Congratulations!

  3. Vicki in GA

    I’m attempting to contact the potter whose plates appear in the Muy Bueno post.
    Did you notice how pretty they are? Also, I’m ordering a calendar.

  4. Beautiful salad! Congratulations on your win! I’ve never tried those cactus leaves—they are always huge and somewhat limp when I see them in the store.

  5. Hello there neighbors !
    We are halfway between Laramie Wyoming and Ft. Collins, CO so when we get to Fort Collins, I shop at the Mexican markets to get my herbs, powders, chiles and some canned items but all are quite small stores and none of them have very much in the way of produce, so nopales are pretty much not available for us. But we do occasionally see jicama even in the mainstream grocery stores and we luck out about half the time and get a nice juicy one, other times, kind of dry…..so…….its hit and miss with jicama. But I’m going to be more diligent searching for it on a regular basis as my husband likes to eat it sliced in wheels and salted as a substitute for his beloved kohlrabi. (but about the only thing they have in common is the crunch and the salt !)

  6. Excellent ! Well deserved. I am a raw beet slaw addict and since nopal and even jicama are not as easy to get here in northern Colorado, I use a 50/50 mix of raw beets and shredded broccoli stems (AKA brocoslaw). Ask Russ about it – I fed it to him last time we worked in Warren together. Great combo – although not in the same league as your gorgeous recipe ! But a northern cousin.

    Keep ’em coming.

    Oh by the way, I am really loving “Everyday Food”, a Reader’s-Digest-sized monthly magazine which is loaded and I mean loaded with super tips, suggestions, ideas, recipes – amazing healthy foods. My favorite food read in a long time.

    1. Thank you! I hope you can find nopal and jícama somewhere to try this salad. Perhaps your part of Colorado doesn’t have an Hispanic grocery stores.
      I’m not familiar with EveryDay food, but I’ll look for it online. Thanks for the tip.

Leave a Reply

