Back again. With breakfast of champions – black beans with avocado and egg

Well, this is a bit awkward. Where do I start after three years of silence? Suffice it to say that after being locked out of Cooking in Mexico since 2021, I was finally able to regain access, almost by accident. But after this absence I’m a little rusty at blogging. How to insert photos? Where to find drafts? What happened to the thin frame around the photos and how do I get it back? (Do I even want to resume blogging?) So I’m making it easy on myself with a simple recipe, not a lot of text, and few photos.

Here is my first post in three years, black beans with avocado and egg, a breakfast favorite and one that comes together easily if you have cooked beans on hand. Tomatoes, red onion, and cilantro add brightness and round out the flavors. Add salsa or hot sauce for a bit of zip. Omit the egg for a vegan version.

Since I last wrote, an instant pot has joined our kitchen cadre of useful appliances. It has become the easiest way to cook beans, a staple in our cocina. Check here if you need instructions for cooking beans on top of the stove. If you are in Mexico, pick through the beans before cooking. It’s not uncommon to find a little pebble or two. Or use canned beans to make getting this simple breakfast to the table even easier.

Black Beans with Avocado and Egg

  • cooked black beans (or any bean of your choice)
  • Sliced avocado
  • chopped red onion
  • chopped cilantro
  • halved grape tomatoes
  • Softly fried egg (optional)
  • salsa or hot sauce

No amounts are given here, because it really depends on your appetite and taste, and how many servings are being prepared. Buen provecho!

© 2009-2024 COOKING IN MEXICO ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

All photos and text are copyright protected. Do not copy or reproduce without permission.

18 thoughts on “Back again. With breakfast of champions – black beans with avocado and egg

  1. Roberta

    Kathleen, what a wonderful surprise to find you back in my Inbox! I’ve missed you and surprisingly, I was just thinking of you and missing your blog, TWO DAYS ago! Thanks for returning!

  2. Karen

    Kathleen, so happy to know that your delicious blog is back! Excited to see what wonderful recipes you’ll share next, yum!!!!

  3. Russell

    I’m the lucky guy who is a few steps from the kitchen Kathleen and I share. She is a real pro devoted to healthy eating and I am thrilled that she is blogging her knowledge and creativity again. I just finished eating what was in one of the photos, as I am always eager to do.

    KATHLEEN IS COOKING IN MEXICO….AGAIN!!!

  4. Mary

    Welcome back! This is great news! I reference your recipes where you left off over and over again. It will be exciting to catch up and see what’s new. I look forward to hearing from you again soon!

      1. memiller518

        I volunteer at SFBRC a food bank in my town. This month’s cooking class presented by our culinary chef is Mexican Basics: beans, rice, salsa & tortillas. We make and take it home.I know how but will be bringing my granddaughter this time. She’s in her first apartment and needs to feed herself. Takeout prices are a “luxury” now and homemade is 100% better!

        1. Your cooking class’s food selection is affordable and nutritious. A good selection for your granddaughter’s first experience of living on her own and preparing her own meals. “Mexican Basics” should be in everyone’s culinary repertoire. Good for her, and good for you for being a food bank volunteer. Thank you.

Leave a comment